Skilled Migration and Skill Select

Skilled Migration

Skilled migration visas provide one of the greatest opportunities for skilled individuals to live and work in Australia. Most of the visas in this category are appropriate for professionals who have skills or outstanding abilities that are highly in demand in Australia. Ask your Skilled and Work Visa Immigration Lawyer your questions to find out more.


General Skilled Migration (GSM)

This program is suited for people who have the qualification and experience in an occupation for which there is a specific skill shortage in Australia.

All visas made available under this program and its subclasses provide autonomous permanent residency or pathways to permanent residency - without the need of a sponsoring employer.

To be eligible for this visa category, you must be between 18 and 49 years of age, have good English language abilities as well as skills and qualifications for an occupation listed on Australia's Skilled Occupation List: SOL or CSOL (depending on the proposed visa subclass). A skills assessment by the relevant authority is mandatory. Applications for visa subclasses under this program are subject to a points test. Spouses/partners and other family members may be included in the application.

The GSM visas are:

  • Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189)
  • Skilled Nominated Visa (subclass 190)
  • Skilled - Regional Sponsored (Provisional) Visa (subclass 489)


Employer Sponsored Migration

Temporary Work (Skilled) Visa (SC 457)

For this visa you must be sponsored by an approved Australian employer/business. It gives you the opportunity to live and work in Australia in your nominated occupation for you sponsor for up to four years. Your professional skills or work experience must be relevant and consistent with the position you are intending to take up in Australia. You must have acceptable English language skills, be of good character and have good health. Your spouse/partner and other members of the family may be included in the application.

Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) Visa (subclass 186)

This permanent visa option is intended for individuals who are nominated by an Australian employer to fill a full-time position. It requires you to be under 50 years of age and have good English language ability. For the Direct Entry Stream it is necessary to undergo a successful skills assessment with the relevant skills assessing authority. Relevant work experience in the nominated occupation, which appears in the Consolidated Skilled Occupation List (CSOL), is also required. The Temporary Residence Transition Stream offers current 457 visa holders a pathway to permanent residency.

Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) Visa (subclass 187) 

This visa is a permanent residence visa for skilled people who want to work in regional Australia. It may be applied for under the Temporary Residence Transition stream, the Direct Entry stream or the Agreement stream.

Under the RSMS, employers are able to nominate staff from overseas to fill skilled positions that they are unable to fill from the local labour market on a permanent basis. The requirements for this visa are that you are younger than 50 years of age, meet the relevant skills, qualifications and English language requirements as applicable, and apply under the stream for which you were nominated.